My Impressions of the GPT Store: The Future of Generative AI

My Impressions of the GPT Store: The Future of Generative AI

Background

Last week, the first developer conference of OpenAI was held, OpenAI DevDay, and it was awesome! I think the generative AI movement is like the new iPhone movement in the tech world. It has many use cases and value for the users, such as generating content, solving problems, and enhancing creativity. If you know how to use these generative AIs well, you have an edge over others. That’s why I always keep up with the new developments in the AI world.

When I was first learning to code, there were no generative AIs and debugging code was super confusing as a beginner (thank you stackoverflow 🙏). However, since these generative AIs were introduced to regular consumers, they have saved me a lot of time and headaches. And no, they are not perfect, and often you need to have the subject knowledge to verify the answers.

My experience with generative AIs

I have been using different generative AI tools for quite some time now, such as Bard and ChatGPT 3.5. But my favorite one is Bing Chat, which is a chat mode of Microsoft Bing that uses the ChatGPT 4 model behind the scenes. Because of that, I never felt like upgrading to Chat GPT 4. But then they announced GPT 4.5 and the GPT store on DevDay. Guess what? They made me curious to try out the Chat GPT paid version. I wonder what amazing things I can do with them. Maybe I can write a best-selling novel with their help. 😉

So what is the GPT store? 🤔

So, in the DevDay conference, the open AI CEO, Sam Altman, introduced GPTs, a way for anyone to train and build their own GPTs. With OpenAI’s simple interface, you can fine-tune the existing ChatGPT models on any dataset you want, without needing any coding skills. It will create a custom version of ChatGPT tailored for a specific purpose.

For example, you could train a GPT on the history of your country, so that your kids can ask questions from that GPT and get specific answers related to the history of your country. Now you have a cool GPT that can specifically answer your history questions.

Now what? That’s where the GPT store comes into the scene. You can publish the history GPT into the GPT store where it works similarly to the app store. So, essentially, it is a platform where you can publish your GPTs and allow others to use them for their purposes.

In the DevDay conference stage, they talked about revenue sharing for the GPTs. However, for now, it’s not that clear. Hopefully, we will be able to earn some money. 🫰

Why am I excited about the GPT store? 🤷‍♂️

With the ability to train your own GPT for a specific purpose and share it with others who are interested in the same topic, the GPT store opens up a whole new set of possibilities for generative AIs. Hopefully, the GPT developers/trainers will be able to build useful tools in the future, making the GPT world more diverse and more interesting and useful for others.

Maybe one day, I will find a GPT that can write blog articles as good as me (or even better). But until then, I will keep writing and sharing my thoughts with you.

Thank you for reading, and if you have a million-dollar idea to build with GPT store, please share it with me in the comments. 😉